Wyoming State Bar Board of Officers & Commissioners Meeting

September 13, 2024 Little America Hotel & Resort Cheyenne, Wyoming

In Attendance: Anna M. Reeves Olson, President; James T. Whiting, Vice President; Kelly

M. Neville, Treasurer; Stefanie L. Boster, First Judicial District

Commissioner; Dona Playton, Second Judicial District Commissioner; Jason

Petri, Third Judicial District Commissioner; Kevin K. Kessner, Fourth Judicial District Commissioner (via phone); Jennifer L. Kirk, Fifth Judicial District Commissioner; Alison O. Gee, Sixth Judicial District Commissioner;

P. Craig Silva, Seventh Judicial District Commissioner;; Clayton M. Melinkovich, Ninth Judicial District Commissioner; John P. Fritz, Chair, Young Lawyer Section; Sharon Wilkinson, Executive Director; Mark W.

Gifford, Bar Counsel, and Cathy Duncil, Admissions Director

Absent: Christopher H. Hawks, Immediate Past President; and Shawn G. Wilde,

Eighth Judicial District Commissioner

President Anna M. Reeves Olson convened the meeting at 9:12 a.m. on Friday, September 13, 2024.

Approval of Minutes

Vice President Alison Gee made a motion to approve the August 23rd meeting minutes. Commissioner Stefanie Boster seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Sixth Judicial District Commissioner Appointment

President Olson shared that she wished to hear Commissioner Gee's thoughts about the two candidates who had expressed interest in serving as the Sixth Judicial District Commissioner. Those candidates were Donald S. Bellamy and Kyle A. Ferris. Commissioner Gee shared that while she is aware of Mr. Bellamy, she knows Kyle Ferris better. Executive Director Sharon Wilkinson shared that Donald Bellamy currently serves as an at-large member of the Young Lawyer Section and he has been a good participant.

After discussion, Treasurer Kelly Neville made a motion to appoint Kyle Ferris to complete Alison Gee's term as the Sixth Judicial District Commissioner. President-Elect James Whiting seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Ratification of 2024/2025 Proposed Budget

Treasurer Neville thanked Cathy Duncil for highlighting the changes the Board made during the August meeting. Vice President Gee mentioned that the Board needed to discuss a budgetary item in Executive Session.

Vice President Gee made a motion to convene an Executive Session. Commissioner Jennifer Kirk seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously. Executive Session convened at 9:19 a.m.

Commissioner Kirk made a motion to adjourn the Executive Session. Commissioner Stefanie Boster seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously. Executive Session was adjourned at 9:50 a.m.

President-Elect Whiting made a motion to increase the Executive Director's salary by 8% instead of the recommended 5% at the August meeting. Commissioner Kirk seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously. Executive Director Wilkinson thanked the Board for its consideration.

Vice President Gee made a motion to ratify the amended budget. Commissioner Boster seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

President Anna Olson adjourned the meeting at 9:54 a.m. on Friday, September 13, 2024.

Minutes Submitted by:

Sharon Wilkinson Executive Director